As one of the first events in this year, 9 scholarship holders and alumni of the Berlin regional group met at the Lankwitz ice rink to play ‘Eisstockschießen’. A game with its origins in the Alp region and which is similar to curling.

At the meeting point in front of the ice rink, you could not overlook that ice skating is in this winter very popular in Berlin. Our group was led past the long queue to the playing field and was instructed in the relatively simple rules of the game. Despite these simple rules, the game turned out to be harder than expected, because it wasn’t that easy to slide the ‘Eisstock’ to the other end of the track at all. Therefore, the right technique had to be tried out and practiced first. After a few attempts, the first points could finally be scored, and the first “Kehren” were played. More than an hour passed quickly and after focusing on the game, there were the first breaks and the participants began lively conversations.

There was very positive feedback for organizing a live event, where people could meet and socialize. With the winter and the pandemic, it is currently difficult for the scholarships to settle in and feel at home. It was nice to see that everyone enjoyed the few hours of playing and socializing in a relatively safely way.

Als Auftakt für das neue Jahr, dass uns hoffentlich besseres bringt, haben sich 9 Stipendiaten und Alumni der Regionalgruppe Berlin auf der Eisbahn Lankwitz zum Eisstockschießen getroffen. Ein Spiel, dass dem Curling ähnelt, und aus der Alpenregion kommt.

Am Treffpunkt vor der Eisbahn wurde schon deutlich, dass Schlittschuhfahren in diesem Winter in Berlin sehr beliebt ist. Vorbei an der langen Schlange ging es für unsere Gruppe zum Spielfeld und wir bekamen eine Einweisung in die relativ einfachen Regeln des Spieles. Dass das Spielen dann seine Tücken hat, konnte man dann anschließend feststellen. Es war gar nicht mal so einfach überhaupt ans andere Ende der Bahn zu kommen und so musste die richtige Technik erst einmal erprobt und geübt werden. Nach einigen Anläufen konnten dann schließlich die ersten Punkte gemacht werden und die ersten „Kehren“ gespielt werden. Schnell war mehr als eine Stunde vergangen und nach der Fokussierung auf das Spiel gab es die ersten Pausen und es wurde sich munter unterhalten.

Es gab viel Zuspruch dafür, dass mit dem Eisstockschießen ein Live-Event organisiert wurde, auf dem man sich begegnen und austauschen konnte. Mit dem Winter und der Pandemie ist es für die Stipendiaten gerade schwer sich einzuleben und heimisch zu fühlen. Es war schön zu sehen, dass man dem für ein paar Stunden entfliehen konnte und relativ sicher gemeinsam etwas unternehmen konnte.